16F or 18F and advice on selecting a programmer to use

Discussion in 'Embedded Systems and Microcontrollers' started by Micro9000, Sep 22, 2009.

1. Micro9000

Thread Starter New Member

Sep 22, 2009
    Hello, I am a student interested in using a pic 16F or 18F for a project. However, since I am new to microcontrollers I am having trouble figuring out which microcontroller I should use, and how to program it using my PC. I have a USB to 9pin serial cable, and I would prefer to use this cable to connect to the programmer.

The project I am looking forward to involves moving a DC motor, which is controlled by pushing buttons that are linked to the microcontroller. I unterstand that I may need a driver chip as well, since the current and voltage outputted by the microcontroller itself is to low.

I have heard of such programmers as Junebug, Pickit 2, and JDM being thrown around, but I am still unsure of which to choose, and if it can be used with a USB to 9pin serial cable.

But again, my main questions are as follows:

-For the given project which microcontoller would you use?

-What device do I need to connect to my PC in order to program the microcontroller?

-If possible do you know of any tutorials for this particular microcontroller?

I thank you in advance for your time.

Last edited: Oct 1, 2009
  2. blueroomelectronics

AAC Fanatic!

Jul 22, 2007
    My Junebug of course :)

take a look at the Mongoose schematic for driving small motors. It uses the popular SN754410 quad half bridge IC

3. Micro9000

Sep 22, 2009