16 LED light chaser

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by Dan Micu, Jun 12, 2015.

1. Dan Micu

Thread Starter New Member

Jun 12, 2015
    Using 7805 regulator, 74193 up-down BCD counter and a 74154 4-to-16 line decoder.

bouncing_leds.PNG

bouncing_leds.jpg

Mods Edit :
    Another thread with same subject, please refer to : 16 Jumbo LEDs Light Chaser.

2. Wendy

Mar 24, 2008
    Could you show a pic of the finished product please?

The PCB files would be nice too.

Remember the purpose of this forum is to allow other people to reproduce your project.

This post will self destruct.

3. Dan Micu

Jun 12, 2015
    I'm not quite finished yet I need to double check my work and footprints .. I also have to add a Power jack connector next to the 5v regulator .. The first version I finished in 2004 when white LEDs first came out and I ordered 50 boards (Mentor Files). This one is done in Cadence and both 5mm LEDs or surface mount can be used .. I've been a PCB designer for over 20 years and know all the files you guys need, ODB++, fab drawing, assembly drawing, BOM list .. I'll include all these in a zip file once I'm confident with the design.

4. ScottWang

Aug 23, 2012
    I think this thread move to the Projects Forum is better, when you completed the whole jobs and send a pm to any moderator then it will be move back, thanks.

5. Dan Micu

Jun 12, 2015
    I guess it will look something like the previous version :) .. I just ordered 50 ultraviolet LEDs .. I would also like to build a BRIGHT orange version to mount on my bike .. I'll make the new board a little longer and spread out the LEDs farther apart to let you mount JUMBO LEDs .. the 74154 should be able to drive higher current ..