130VDC Motor control with Arduino

ilijamt

Joined Dec 24, 2013
Hi,

I have the following motor available, and I would like to be able to control it pretty accurately.

This is the motor that I have and I want to control.

Can anyone give me suggestions on how to proceed, as this is my first time, trying to control something this powerful, as I don't have experience with this, this is my initial thoughts, and can someone help me to see if I'm on the right track.

My resistor values are a little low, but they can be adjusted later

I want to be able to control the motor for up to +- 0.5 RPM , if it can be done +- 0.01 even better.

My initial thoughts about controlling the motor was using an Full MOSFET H Bridge with back EMF Diodes.

I'm planing to use PID controller on the Arduino to control the RPM of the motor, also I know that the PWM pins on the arduino is from 0 to 255, is to use a dual PWM circuit for a finer RPM control.

Thanks for any help you can give me.

strantor

Joined Oct 3, 2010
Im assuming the purpose of the middle 2 optos is armature feedback for speed regulation? Not sure thats going to cut it. Youre probably going to need encoder feedback.

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
The two middle opto functions are a mystery, the output side is only rated for 100ma and there does not appear to be anything to restrict the current, particularly with the 130vdc version of motor?
Max.

bertus

Joined Apr 5, 2008
Hello,

It looks like the middle optocouplers are used to switch the back-EMF diodes.
As stated there is no current limiting on them.

Bertus

ilijamt

Joined Dec 24, 2013
The two diodes are used to prevent a back-EMF diodes from the motors when we switch them on and off at high frequencies, on both sides to short out the back EMF in one direction.

The SG ( Signal Ground ), and PG ( Power Ground ) are used to separate the grounding between the Motor and the Arduino, because of the interference caused by the high voltage on the ground wire.