13.8V from an ATX supply?

ksoggs

Joined Jul 4, 2010
is there any way to get 13.8v out of a 12v ATX power supply.....

I am a computer technician.... and i have BOXES of power supplies and old computer parts laying around....

I have been using computer power supplies to power 5 and 12v items for years...

but i recently have found the need for voltages other than just 5 and 12...

So i was wondering if there was an easy way to convert a computer supply into more of a variable voltage bench supply....

most importantly and urgently is the need for 13.6-13.8v.... Is there a way to step up the voltage of an atx supply to get this?

also... i know the 5v side always has much higher amperage than the 12v... is there any way to modify them to get more amps from the 12? can you run them in series? get like 17v at a mid-range amperage... and then step that back down to 13.8?

how hard is it to adjust the output voltage on these things? can it be done with a few modifications and extra parts? or is it a major deal?

I just know that they make wall warts with little switches on them to give different voltages... and those are crazy simple...
and they make laptop power bricks that go from 12v to 19.5v... and not much to them either...
sooooo, cant i just combine the 3 things and come up with an ATX based variable voltage bench supply?

oh and then i guess next question.... is how hard would it be to add current limiting ability to this?

Potato Pudding

Joined Jun 11, 2010
Computer Power Supplies are made for a specific job with low profit margins.

There is some flex in the current capacity to allow adding hard drives for example but if you have fixed enough computers you know that they don't always even handle that well.

You might be able to modify a computer supply but make no mistake that you would really be using it to build a new power supply.