12volt computer fan - want to reverse spin direction

Offtwice

Joined Oct 22, 2012
I have 4 12 volt computer fans (that I am not using for a computer) that I want to reverse the spin direction on. I understand there will be limitations due to the capacity of the fans themselves not designed to spin in alternate direction..........but can it be done?

There are three wires, hot-ground-RPM. When I reverse the hot-ground.......the blades don't spin at all..........so I am assuming something internally is keeping me from trying this. Can I removed or bypass this restriction? It seems like this should be achievable..........but I am not experienced at this........and before I butcher a fan (trial and error) I figured I would ask the question here...........to see if someone smarter than me could provide some insight.

Thanks!

Offtwice

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010
Can you turn them over? Many fans are made to be (mechanically) reversible. The fan blades are likely foils that will have lower performance going the wrong direction.

JohnInTX

Joined Jun 26, 2012
I don't think you can reverse the rotation since its probably BLDC and the designers of the fan/blades had a specific direction and aerodynamics in mind.

Last edited:

Offtwice

Joined Oct 22, 2012
Can you turn them over? Many fans are made to be (mechanically) reversible. The fan blades are likely foils that will have lower performance going the wrong direction.
Unfortunately - the housings that I fabricated and chromed will not facilitate - flipping them over.

Offtwice

Joined Oct 22, 2012
I don't think you can reverse the rotation since its probably BLDC and the designers of the fan/blades had a specific direction and aerodynamics in mind.
I believe I could reinforce the blades to handle reverse direction - but am wondering if the wiring can be changed to get the fan to spin the
Opposite direction.

Offtwice

Joined Oct 22, 2012