12V to 9V instead of battery

DomRep

Joined Aug 26, 2013
Hi guys, its my first time with you.
I have a Clamp-Meter DT266 (2001/12/15). It needs a 9V battery 6F22.
The one that was in, a Duracell (alcaline 2015), hasn't enough power anymore, so far so good, I bought a new (2014) one - empty, the second one the same mess, but I'm living in the DR, nothing more to say.:rolleyes:
Now, instead of the battery, I want to use a leftover power supply:

Sunny SYS 1089-1212-T3 AC in: 100-240 V, 1,0 A max
DC out: +12V, 1,0 A, ±5% 12Wmax Leakage: < 3.5mA
Surge Current: 40A@115VAC 60A@230VAC nominal
Efficiency: min. 60% Temp.: 0-40°C
Range: 90-264VAC / 47~63 Hz
Overload, Overvoltage, Short Circuit protected

Is there anyone who can tell me how to manage that or anyone who has a better idea for not to use batteries anymore?
Thanks in advance
Dieter

WBahn

Joined Mar 31, 2012
Hi #12, like this one?
Dieter
Yes.

Since this may not like dissipating the 3W+ that the supply could subject it to, you might put a suitable fuse in series with the input. The max current that it is rated for is 250mA and this would be low enough to keep from toasting the chip since the junction would run at somewhere around 75°C, comfortably below the rated 125°C, even without a heatsink.

I don't imagine your clamp-on meter requires much (after all, it was powered by a 9V battery that presumably could last quite some time). Figure out how much and then put in a fuse that is rated at something like twice to five times that, but not to exceed the 250mA from above.

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
I'm guessing this is a switching supply?
Take a look inside and see if there is a trimmer to set the regulator voltage, you may be able to tweek it down?
Max.

WBahn

Joined Mar 31, 2012
I'm guessing this is a switching supply?
Take a look inside and see if there is a trimmer to set the regulator voltage, you may be able to tweek it down?
Max.
+1