12V Sealed Lead-Acid Charger for Battery Backup

falblambiz

Joined Oct 31, 2007
Hi, I need to integrate a battery backup to a previous electronics project. I am an electronics engineering student and my professor assigned to me the sealed lead-acid battery type to do implement the backup.

Searching this forum I found about the existence of a site called "Battery University"- which is great by the way - and on this link
http://www.batteryuniversity.com/partone-13.htm they say that to improve the recharge times the right thing to do is to use a multi-stage charge algorithm involving a constant current (bulk) stage, a constant voltage stage and a float charge stage. The last state is important in this particular application because a requirement of the project is to automatically avoid overcharging.

So, my questions are:
1- Is this multi-stage circuit too complex to implement? can you give any example circuits or guide me to the proper information?
2- Can I alternatively use a simpler approach (constant current only or constant voltage only)? being aware that it will represent a tradeoff in battery life and charging periods?

Battery Specs:
-12V
-4.5Ah for 20 hours
-Sealed Lead-Acid

I appreciate your help and advices. :)

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
First, locate a standard SLA battery that will be suitable for use. Then find several manufacturers for that battery size, and carefully read the maintenance sections in the datasheets; charging current, float voltage, maintenance charge, temperature coefficients, etc.

In addition to the "bulk" charge, "absorption" charge and "float" stages, many SLAs require an equalization charge, which is a deliberate overcharge for a short period of time. The equalization charge stirs the electrolyte and removes sulphation from the plates. An equalization charge must not be applied to gel-cell batteries, as permanent bubbles will form in the gel which will reduce battery capacity.