12V Pump Wiring

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by Cabin_Crazy, Feb 1, 2011.

1. Cabin_Crazy

Thread Starter New Member

Feb 1, 2011
    I am trying to wire up a 12V pump. I need the pump to turn on when water hits the top sensor and turn off when there is no water at the bottom sensor.

I have successfully made a circuit work (Deep Well Pump Wiring.jpg) with a Omron MY4 relay. Unfortunately the 4-wire sensors (http://www.smarthomeusa.com/ShopByManufacturer/gri/Item/GRI-2500/) are not submersible and I ended up burning up my pump.

I have now purchased new sensors (http://www.aartech.ca/vip1000-h2o-flair-waterguard-water-detector-5-24vdc-white.html) which I hope will be submersible but I don't know how to change my circuit from the above 4-wire contacts to my new 2-wire contacts. Can anyone help me out? I've attached a sample drawing (Deep Well Pump Wiring03.jpg)

I'm not an electrician. Please explain it to me like I was 5 years old. Thanks!

2. tracecom

AAC Fanatic!

Apr 16, 2010
    Maybe someone will be along who has prior knowledge of these sensors, but if not, you will need to obtain more technical detail about the sensors and publish the info on this thread. For example, the manufacturer of the new sensor (Flair) has a datasheet available on their website, but I was unable to download the datasheet without registering. I did find a datasheet on the Grisk sensor, but I don't know which version of the sensor you are using. In addition, please attach the .jpg file to a post so we can see it.

I will say that at first glance, it looks to me like the new sensor will still use four wires: two for power and two to the pump. But the datasheet will tell for sure.

One final note. The contacts on the sensor must have sufficient current handling capability to power the pump. The Grisk datasheet seems to indicate that the contacts there are rated at only 500 ma, which may not be enough. You need to also provide a datasheet for the pump to know for sure.