12v pulse into 12v supply help needed

nooby

Joined Nov 16, 2013
Hi guys and gals, sorry if this is simple or old news but I have looked over the forum along with the rest of the internet and find myself running in circles to find a solution.
I have chosen this forum to join and ask for help so please be gentle and I thankyou in advance for any help.

I have limited electronics knowledge but can make a circuit up and do understand what components are, I just might not understand certain phrases or know what long words mean lol.

Onto my issue,

I have a video doorphone that has an unlock feature. The equipment was bought 10 years ago and only just being fitted.

There is a lock\unlock feature whereby on pressing a button on the inside monitor the door unit will operate a lock on the door to allow entrance.

The unit is a Chinese special and did not even come with chinglish instructions to follow (didn't even come with the locking system).

I have bought and installed a 12v locking strike plate. This strike plate allows the opening of the door when power is applied, at all other times it is fixed closed (fail secure).

The unit has an output to connect to the locking system the user chooses which emits a very brief 12v output when the unlock button is pressed.
This output is powerful enough to operate the solernoid on the latch (I can hear it activate) but as it is a split second instance it is not open long enough to allow a user to open the door.

I have been working on the assumption that I merely need a simple circuit to lengthen that '12v pulse' so its on long enough to allow the lock to operate.

I have looked at a lot of 555 timer circuits but can only find ones that use a switch to either start the timer or reset the timer. I have looked at monostable multivibrator circuits but they seem to run from a negative trigger which I admit I don't even understand fully.

Is anyone willing to help me out a little and hold my hand?