12v Frequency dependent switch?

orange source

Joined Dec 19, 2008
Firstly a big hello to everyone as this is my first post.

I'm fairly new to this although I have built a fair few kits and can re-wire a 20k sound system in the dark but thought I'd try something a bit more adventurous but can't find any plans or circuits.

I need something sound activated that will only activate at frequencies below say 100Hz one that activates between 500Hz 3KHz and one that activates at 5KHz and above.

Also it has to run on 12v and output 12v to drive some EL wire or a bank of LEDs.

Thanks for any help in advance

orange source

Joined Dec 19, 2008
Wow thanks bertus, will this run ok on 12v without frying?
also would i be right in thinking i need to omit a few resistors to allow 12v output?

and as a gesture of good will to all men I have about 10000 two colour (oblong) leds (orange and green) if any one wants some for the price of postage I'll send a bag of 100.

eblc1388

Joined Nov 28, 2008
Wow thanks bertus, will this run ok on 12v without frying?
The circuit bertus suggested in the previous post will work on 12V without any changes.

I have checked the frequency ranges of the three channels and they are in about the same frequency range as what you have wanted.

Now you need to decide on how many LEDs each channel will drive. Base on this new piece of information, the output driver part of the circuit can be finalized.

eblc1388

Joined Nov 28, 2008
it basically needs 12v 300 milliamp as its going to drive some EL wire Inverters.
I don't think the outputs of that unit (which is intended for LEDs) can successfully drive an EL wire inverter because the ON time is very short. An inverter will take considerable time to generate a high voltage at its output and I don't think it will work with such a short power pulse.