12v dc using a 2a relay to trigger a 10a power

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by RobertsPB, Aug 8, 2016.

1. RobertsPB

Thread Starter New Member

Aug 8, 2016
    Hi I am a newbie to this site so I hope I am asking the right question and in the right area.

I need a dc 12v 10a power supply from the battery to be able to be switched on/off from the auxiliary power supply that is dc 12v 2a.

Can I do this with a relay and if so can some one help me a diagram.

NOTE: I am not an expert with electronics but can follow it, if not too complicate.

2. AlbertHall

Jun 4, 2014
    Certainly you can do that. Is the switch going to be literally a toggle switch or is it to be switched by something else, perhaps a PIR, a thermostat, etc.
  3. Dodgydave

Distinguished Member

Jun 22, 2012
  4. Tonyr1084

Sep 24, 2015
    The attached drawing shows how easy this is. Only, I did not include any safety fuses in my circuit. Be sure to protect your circuits with appropriate fuses. Depending on how much current your relay draws you'll want a fuse typically 1 1/2 to 2 times that rating. Suppose your relay draws half an amp. A 1 amp fuse should be used between your aux supply and the relay. Before or after the switch doesn't matter, but I prefer before the switch (between it and the aux supply).

As for the 10 amp circuit on the battery - be sure to use a fuse that will protect your load. Here, I'd opt for 1 1/2 times the normal load. If your load draws 3 amps then I'd use a 5 amp fuse. Again, between the battery and relay for optimal protection. And your relay contacts need to be rated to handle at least twice the current your load may draw.