12v central locking motor reverse relay

mittler.a

Joined Sep 29, 2012
Hi,

I want to make my number plate on my bike movable for stunt riding - it would be in the way, i.e. the rear wheel touching it.

I have a 12v central locking motor that will do the job. With normal polarity applied for 2-3 seconds it will move the number plate to visible position and reverse polarity to flick it under the pilion seat.

What I need now is a relay that will reverse the polarity and apply timed power for 2-3 seconds every time I push the button switch.

Can anyone tell me what circuit I could use here? I am pretty new to building my own circuits so any help would be much appreciated. Thanks!

Alex

strantor

Joined Oct 3, 2010
ah the old license plate hider circuit. First time I've heard a "legitimate" reason for one. Well you need a timed relay. you can find 12V timed relays on ebay for cheap but when you see how big they are, I don't think you will be happy. Of course, if your motorbike is actually a lowered pickup with obnoxious neons, exhaust, and stereo system, you won't care much about the size.

Would you be OK with having 2 buttons? I think it would be simpler to do with a 556 dual timer with each side set to 3 seconds. One of each of the timers in the 556 triggers each position. I see a way to do it with one button, but it gets more complicated. Someone will probably chime in with a better solution...

mittler.a

Joined Sep 29, 2012
ah the old license plate hider circuit. First time I've heard a "legitimate" reason for one. Well you need a timed relay. you can find 12V timed relays on ebay for cheap but when you see how big they are, I don't think you will be happy. Of course, if your motorbike is actually a lowered pickup with obnoxious neons, exhaust, and stereo system, you won't care much about the size.
:) thats it, its all about size. need something tiny in this case.

mittler.a

Joined Sep 29, 2012