128x64 GLCD basic questions

embpic

Joined May 29, 2013
i am very new to this type of lcd. till now i have used the 16x2, 16x4 lcd. But after googling i found that there is some
kinda font genrator and lots of stuff regading this. my doubt
Is there necessory font genrator or font need to feed,if i want to display normal text?
as in 16x4 or 16x2 there are segment is of 5x7. so in 128x64 lcd what is segment size.?

takao21203

Joined Apr 28, 2012
you need binary font data.

on a GLCD, bitmaps can be placed freely.

Also you need a string print function.

You can copy all pixels, which is faster if you align it to byte boundaries.

Or you can copy only set pixels (and you have to erase as well).

About smallest possible size is 5 pixels height (only capital letters), width is upto 5 pixels but looks much better if you use proportional fonts.

I could give you the code for that if you want.

takao21203

Joined Apr 28, 2012
i could even drop in C code for printing and accessing the GLCD (I made it more than a year ago and it is not very good + not well commented). When I can find it, dont know if I still have it on my current machine.

embpic

Joined May 29, 2013
ok sir provide me code and thank for that.
but i have doubt that if i am send ascii string "ALL ABOUT CIRCUIT" then will it display?
or i will need to provide font to GLCD.
Thanks again sir.

takao21203

Joined Apr 28, 2012
ok sir provide me code and thank for that.
but i have doubt that if i am send ascii string "ALL ABOUT CIRCUIT" then will it display?
Thanks again sir.
Actually...

I don't have a string routine for this GLCD.
I have one for a color TFT but that works different.

I copy the font definition into the thread soon, and I will see what is useful from the GLCD stuff.

By the way it's for LED matrix, the one for the color TFT was taken from the internet somewhere i did not make it myself.

Maybe I put it on a webpage later during the day. Is it urgent, means are you working at this right now?