120Rs on CAN Network

Discussion in 'Embedded Systems and Microcontrollers' started by piraticman, Apr 27, 2015.

1. piraticman

Thread Starter New Member

Apr 27, 2015
    Hi there.

I'm relatively new to electronics, I can solder stuff but not great with theory/schematics.
    I am going to be creating a CAN network soon but I understand I need 120ohm termination resistors at the start and the end of the bus network.

"I have been told I need one 120R resistor between CAN_L and CAN_H at one end of the bus and the second one between CAN_L and CAN_H at the other end."

Here is a link to a schematic. http://www.scielo.org.ar/img/revistas/laar/v35n2/2a10g90.gif

Is there anywhere online I can see an image of what this would look like? I mean, I guess it's as simple as cutting the two wires within the cable and soldering them back together with a common resistor between them. But I'm curious as to how to keep it relatively shielded. I guess I could add some shrink plastic over the resistor legs but leave the actual resistor unshielded?

Secondly, I'm just not 100% sure my the way I imagine the network to be correct. A single twisted pair cable with multiple nodes dotted throughout. A resistor is placed on the cable between the CAN interface and the first node and a second resistor after the final node? So I'd have an extra bit of wire coming out the end of my final node with a resistor on it?

Finally, bonus points if you have any tips/videos on how to neatly solder a cable to a sub-D connector in parallel (so as far as I understand, the cable again, is split in two and each side stripped back and soldered to the relevant pins within the connector). I'm curious how to keep this neat without losing to much shielding.

Thanks in advance

2. Papabravo

Expert

Feb 24, 2006