12 volt dc voltage regulator

jpark63

Joined Feb 18, 2010
Hello everyone,

I would like to make a voltage regulator for my 12-volt dc water pump. I have some experience with electronics but no formal training so all help with this is very much appreciated.

I use the same 12-volt dc pump on a few different vehicles that the battery voltage output will varies (12.80 to as high as 14.5 dc volts) and because of this the speed or volume of the pump will also go up or down. The water pump only pumps 1.1 gallon per minute, which is perfect for my application. So I need to keep the pump running as constant as possible.

12 Volt Dc water pump specs.
Shurflo pump model 8005-292-139
The amp draw is 1.9 amps with a maximum draw of 3.8 amps.
Pressure setting for this pump, 45 PSI, I use this for circulating water so the pump has no more then 5 – 10 PSI

I would like to keep the input volts at 13.0 + .5 volts. Also, I would like to do it as easy as possible.

Thanks for everyone’s input and help with this.

MarkTBSc

Joined Feb 27, 2010
If you were willing to accept running the pump at 12v then Seme Lab do a nice series of Voltage Regulator semiconductors. The IP1R18A-12 will handle up to a 35v input and will put out a constant 12v at up to 5A.

Attachments

bertus

Joined Apr 5, 2008
Hello,

@MarkTBSC, with the given regulator the minimum input voltage must be 15 Volts to get the 12 Volts output.

@jpark63, for a regulator that can boost and drop voltage look for a buck-boost or sepic regulator.

Greetings,
Bertus

studiot

Joined Nov 9, 2007
The IP1R18A-12 has a dropout voltage of 2.5 volts.

This means the minimum acceptable input voltage for 12 volts is 14.5 volts.

jpark
This will be a problem to you even if you went for a low dropout regulator becaue your minimum input is below your target of 13 volts.

You need to reassess your requirements first off.

jpark63

Joined Feb 18, 2010