115VAC low current fan speed controller

d0val

Joined Sep 10, 2015
Greetings,
I am fairly new to electronics, and have mostly worked with DC circuits so far. I have an AC fan I want to use to make a carbon filtered ventilation fan for my soldering station. I can do this with a DC circuit and DC fan, but when researching how to do it with an AC fan I came up with more questions than I started with...

The fan I have is a Nidec TA450AC model A30122-10. It is about 5x5x1.5 inches, and rated for 115VAC, 50/60Hz, .26/.21A. I found data on the fan here.

In my research so far it seems there might be three solutions: 1> Use a TRIAC/DIAC circuit, 2> Use a MOSFET circuit or 3> Use a microcontroller/PWM circuit. There seem to be benefits/drawbacks to each method, and I don't know which method to choose, or even if I'm headed in the right direction.. I don't know how to tell if the fan is single-phase, triple-phase, induction... ugh. I am looking for an inexpensive solution I can build myself, that performs well.

Can anyone help me find the right solution for my application? Or at least point me in the right direction?

Thanks much,
doval

Joined Nov 30, 2010
Buy an electrical box and a dimmer at the hardware store. Buy a power cord or cut one off a dead appliance.
That solution keeps beginners from assembling things that run from the wall outlet, it complies with the Terms of Service for this website, and it saves me designing something that any Google search would find in a millisecond.

Edit: Five posts later I find this will not work.

Attachments

Last edited:

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
What is the reason you want variable speed for your fan? it is most likely a shaded pole motor if so the easiest way would be a triac control.
PWM is pretty much limited to DC control.
Max.

d0val

Joined Sep 10, 2015