1.5V simple step up

graeth

Joined Feb 18, 2013
First off, I apologize if this is the wrong forum. Given that this is a personal project of mine I decided here would be appropriate. Second, I'm a mechanical engineer so these will probably be simplistic questions for you experts (my school wouldn't let me take electronic classes).

I have a basic design in my head for circuit that uses a battery source to power a solenoid valve and is activated/closed by a reed switch. Its a 12v solenoid, but I would like to avoid the added weight of 8 AA batteries. I was hoping to use 1 or 2 batteries at most to charge a 12V capacitor(s) that would dump into the solenoid when a reed switch is tripped.

I'm pretty sure that I can't just connect them together because in my mind the battery wouldn't be able to get the capacitor to, let alone above, 1.4/1.5V. So I'm looking for a way to step up the voltage with minimal complexity/space/weight--no ICs, microprocessors and stuff along those lines.

R!f@@

Joined Apr 2, 2009
There are few problems.

1. First how much current does the 12V solenoid needs to effectively pull the core.

2. Charging a cap to 12V tht is enuf to activate a solenoid might not be feasible unless ur cap is of very high capacitance. So to charge tht cap will take a quite long.

3. U need a boost converter to boost a low voltage to 12V. This will complicate the situation where u well need to figure out the current input the battery can supply.

Solution is to use a Li-on or a Li-po to supply the boost converter.
Simple and effective.

Check ebay for boost converters. There are cheap, small yet effective circuits that can use a 3.7V li-on boost converter. The output is variable, so U can use to almost any circuit. And the current output is quite high too

graeth

Joined Feb 18, 2013
Was trying to keep it simple, trying to stay away from specialty batteries and prefabbed circuits. Someone made a joule thief that bumped to 12v, guess I could look into that again.