0 to 5v to PWM with frequency control

Status
Not open for further replies.

LPGC

Joined May 13, 2014
Hello all, this is my first post on this forum, so a little introduction first... I am Simon, I run a company (LPGC) that converts petrol vehicles to run on LPG (propane) in Yorkshire, England.

I am by no means an electronics expert compared to, I'm sure, many people on this forum but I may appear so to the layman - As a kid I used to fix amplifiers for bands / modify CB radios, modify computers to run from car batteries etc. More recently I have designed voltage buffering circuits to effect a repair on vehicle ECU's that have stopped reading temperature signals etc...

So I could probably fudge my way through and do what I would like to do next without asking for help, but I thought it better to ask the experts on this forum for advice!

Essentially, I want to build a circuit that: Takes a 0v to 5v voltage (this is a vehicle engine inlet manifold pressure signal) and turns that signal into a pulsing signal where 12v is off and 0v is the pulse. The pulse width should be between 0ms at very low manifold pressure (maybe close to 0v) and up to 16ms at atmospheric pressure (near 3v as opposed to 5v - more on this later). The frequency of the PWM signal needs to be clocked to pulse at the same frequency as engine rpm, so the system needs to take a clock signal from the engine ignition coil.

Having read the above, I am sure most people on the forum will think I am trying to build a standalone petrol or LPG engine fuel injection ECU, but this is not quite what I am trying to achieve...