0-30v 0-3A. One 2N3055 pass really enough

jimmiegin

Joined Apr 4, 2014
Hi all.
I Have been looking at this:
http://diyfan.blogspot.dk/2013/03/ad...-take-two.html
As the title of my post suggests, I am not comfortable about running this circuit with only one 2N3055. Now I may have this wrong but at max dissipation this pass transistor would have to waist 90W of power. (If I am mistaken please correct me) And although the designer states that a "huge heat sink" is needed and "forced air cooling", I am not convinced that is sufficient. so something is telling me I should be using about three times 2n3055 in parallel. On a comment from one builder of this supply he says that he burned three transistors but a reply to this says that is normal with a short. I know very little of what I am speaking and I am just starting out with my hobby. But this tells me there is no short circuit protection, but I though a variable current limiting was there to insure the limiting of current and therefore large current would not be drawn if a short happens, so nothing should be burned up. Until I have studied enough to design and build my own supply, I would like to go with this schematic. Please could I get guidance for any changes or additions that need to be made. Thank you. Jimmiegin

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010
That link doesn't work. I guess you meant this?

I don't see a 2N3055 indicated on the schematic there. Which one are you looking at?

Stepping farther back: What are you trying to do? One way to get started in this hobby is to just use an old computer PSU on your lab bench. No reason to build one.

AnalogKid

Joined Aug 1, 2013
I have to agree with Wayne, this is a fairly complicated power suply for someone who is starting out. Being able to buy a pc board would make a huge difference.