Disconnecting a live inductor?

Sylvia

Joined Apr 16, 2014
I am sorry, if the question seem stupid, I am new to this: What happens if you have a circuit with an inductor (that is saturated and passing current in one direction acting as a wire) and then you open switches on both sides and disconnect the inductor?

According to theory current can't change instantaneously though the inductor - so it can't go to zero - but if you have physically severed any conductor routes where it can flow though, what happens?

Also another question: suppose you have a voltage source connected to an inductor, but on one side there is a wire loop after the inductor is saturated a swithis opened in the circuit and the inductor is connected only to the loop.

Would the current start circulating in the closed loop then?

Last edited:

alfacliff

Joined Dec 13, 2013
look up "inductive kick" there is a large spike of reverse voltage generated as the magnetic field colapses, then a little ringing, then nothing. you cant store energy for very long in an inductor. not like a capacitor or battery.

AnalogKid

Joined Aug 1, 2013
In your first question, you can't open both switches truly simultaneously from the point of view of the inductor. Even 1 nanosecond difference changes how the inductor interacts with the circuit it was connected to. But if you could isolate both ends at the same instant, the voltage across the inductor would increase rapidly (inductive kick) and then drop to zero, The energy stored in the inductor would be radiated as electric and magnetic fields, and dissipated as heat in the copper.

ak

Last edited:

ian field

Joined Oct 27, 2012
I am sorry, if the question seem stupid, I am new to this: What happens if you have a circuit with an inductor (that is saturated and passing current in one direction acting as a wire) and then you open switches on both sides and disconnect the inductor?