Concept of "Ground"

tirantloblanc

Joined Mar 9, 2014
I'm new to electronics and i would like to know what's the main difference between a circuit with no connection to ground, and another circuit with a ground connection.

I read about it in the first chapter (DC) of this book. I can't understand things like this:

I mean: In the second image, How could exist a circuit without ground? What implies that ?

I thought ground connection was a safety measure, whose main objective was to receive the current that otherwise a person would recive by touching the circuit.

Please note that i'm an absolute beginner in this. Thank you.

P.D.: I have found another doubt, please answer this question if you think it's adecuate (I don't know if this is an "all engineer" forum and it's inadecuate to post this stupid doubt here)

The last doubt is this: How could the current pass accross the tree and the person? I think that all the space between the tree and the person, including all the ground is a more resistive path than just flowing normally across the resistance.

Last edited:

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
If you want a definitive answer in detail, I suggest you get hold of the 'bible' of grounding, or if you have a library access, this is a book by Eustace Soares and is published by the IAEI, which is the International Association of Electrical Inspectors and is used be the NEC and others as a reference.
I got my last copy from AbeBooks clearing house for a virtually new copy for $1.00!
It pretty much answers all questions on Earth Grounding and bonding.
Max.

ericgibbs

Joined Jan 29, 2010
hi tir,
Your 2ndQ.

Consider the very high current flowing away, radially from the point were the tree is in the ground when the lightning strikes the tree.

If the current is say 10,000A and the ground resistance between your feet is 10 ohms, thats 10,000 * 10 = 100,000Volts differential between your feet... Bang!!!

E

tirantloblanc

Joined Mar 9, 2014
hi tir,
Your 2ndQ.