Reduce the Boolean expression (a+b+d+j) * 2.152?

WBahn

Joined Mar 31, 2012
What does it mean to multiply a Boolean expression by 2.152?

What is it you are looking for? Someone to do your work for you?

rssatnam

Joined Feb 16, 2014
What does it mean to multiply a Boolean expression by 2.152?

What is it you are looking for? Someone to do your work for you?
I'm studying logic gates, and I'm able to solve some of the expressions but not this one, and I've to submit my assignment tomorrow so please if you can help me.

Thanks

WBahn

Joined Mar 31, 2012
Fine.

(a* 2.152)+(b* 2.152)+(d* 2.152)+(j* 2.152)

Until you give some idea of what it means to multiply a Boolean expression by a number, that's the best I can do.

WBahn

Joined Mar 31, 2012
I imagine you'd treat 2.152 as a constant TRUE or HIGH value.
Why? On what basis? Would we treat 0.01 as a constant TRUE? How about 0.95? Or 1.05? Or 94.3?

Without any context, it is meaningless.

And the OP obviously doesn't have any interest in providing a meaningful context for the question they asked. Until they do, they don't deserve (nor can they hope to get) a meaningful answer.

Austin Clark

Joined Dec 28, 2011
anything over 0 is considered a 1. Negative numbers would be a little trickier...
If we assume anything over 0 is a 1, and 0's remain 0s, then boolean algebra actually works out.

tshuck

Joined Oct 18, 2012
anything over 0 is considered a 1. Negative numbers would be a little trickier...
If we assume anything over 0 is a 1, and 0's remain 0s, then boolean algebra actually works out.
That it's a very big assumption. Boolean algebra has no meaning for something like 2.152, unless that is being mapped into true, or false, as one of the two possible states, and that needs to be explicitly stated before any real meaning can be made of it.

Austin Clark

Joined Dec 28, 2011