All About Circuits Forum  

Go Back   All About Circuits Forum > Electronics Forums > Electronics Resources

Notices

Electronics Resources Get help with all types of electronics resources, including books, websites, datasheets, technical literature, and software.

Reply   Post New Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-26-2008, 11:20 PM
scubasteve_911 scubasteve_911 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,202
Default Any Altium Designer experts??

Hi everyone,

I'm working with the latest Altium Designer and having a bit of an issue. I wish to create very redundant PCB layouts, since I have many parts of my circuit repeating. I would like to keep the communication between the schematic and pcb parts. Also, the subblocks to be routed, need to be connected differently to the FPGA.

Does anyone have experience with making redundant layouts within the PCB?

Steve
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-26-2008, 11:42 PM
SgtWookie's Avatar
SgtWookie SgtWookie is offline
Expert Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: In the vast midwest of the USA; CST
Posts: 22,043
Default

I have no experience with that particular software, but I suggest that you search for Users' Groups on Google or other search engines.

Or, you could just go here:
http://www.altium.com/Community/Forums/
__________________
General info:
If you have a question, please start a thread/topic. I do not provide gratis assistance via PM nor E-mail, as that would violate the intent of this Board, which is sharing knowledge ... and deprives you of other knowledgeable input.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-27-2008, 04:08 AM
scubasteve_911 scubasteve_911 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,202
Default

Wookie,

Thanks for the reply, but I cannot join the forum and ask questions unless I am a member. I cannot be a member without having a customer number, so you can see the dilemma. I was hoping someone was keen on that program here. I'm pretty good at using it, but I don't know a few things here and there.

Steve
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-27-2008, 05:44 AM
eeboy eeboy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 90
Default

I am a user of Altium Designer... but I don't understand your question.

Are you looking to create a hierarchical design? If so, I would suggest you think it over... five or six times. The idea of re-using portions of your schematics sounds great. Simply using it as you would use a function is a high level programming language. I've done it and it makes the schematic capture portion quick and easy. However, reading the schematics at a later date is very difficult. You are likely to get many complaints from the people who maintain the product (if that is you then it might be less of an issue). Another pain is the annotation. For each instance it appends some sub-string of characters so that you can identify to which instance it belongs. So, your reference designators become extremely long and your silkscreen gets cluttered. I prefer to stick with flat schematics. Cut and paste, reset designators, then automatically annotate.

If you are talking about PCB layout only. You can designate certain components to be members of a room. You can then route that room (sub circuit). When it's just like you want it, copy the attributes to the other identical rooms.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-27-2008, 02:27 PM
scubasteve_911 scubasteve_911 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,202
Default

eeboy,

Thanks for the reply, I already use a hierarchical structure for creating schematics. It is a very clean way to go when you have a lot of repeated schematics.

I'm only referring to the layout. I have 8 exactly the same subcircuits to layout, except with different nets coming to and from them. I understand that rooms are created, but I don't know what you mean by assigning the same attributes? I really would like to route one channel of my design perfectly, then replicate them. Any thoughts?

Steve
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-28-2008, 01:28 AM
eeboy eeboy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 90
Default

Use the room toolbar to get access to the "Copy Room Formats" tool. Should do just what you want.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-28-2008, 02:02 AM
scubasteve_911 scubasteve_911 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,202
Default

eeboy,

Thank you! That was exactly what I was looking for! You're awesome

Steve
Reply With Quote
Reply   Post New Thread

Tags
, ,


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
altium designer pcb resize zak9000 Electronics Resources 1 01-24-2012 08:17 AM
Altium designer 09 Issue! odinaustin General Electronics Chat 8 02-04-2011 01:31 AM
Altium Designer Summer 9 : Auto Route Issue sgaltium General Electronics Chat 2 01-30-2011 07:17 AM
Altium designer and multichannel Schematic?? alexglvr Electronics Resources 1 07-07-2010 03:05 PM
altium designer savage67 General Electronics Chat 3 02-12-2010 02:41 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:00 AM.


User-posted content, unless source quoted, is licensed under a Creative Commons Public Domain License.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.