Transmission Line Odd Theory Concept

sjgallagher2

Joined Feb 6, 2013
I need help with an odd concept in transmission line wave reflections. So what I'm reading is that when you have a transmission line, the voltage and current characteristics are repeated every λ/2, they change phase every λ/4, and the impedance is repeated every λ/2 as well. Apparently this idea means you can reflect specific impedances for matching, or that you can use the transmission line for tuning.
There are pictures that show the voltage and current 180° out of phase going through a transmission line, they peak every λ/4 and intersect every λ/4. I just don't understand how the impedance is repeated, or how you can use this idea for anything that was mentioned above. I'm pretty new to transmission line theory so maybe I'm missing something. Help is greatly appreciated :)

w2aew

Joined Jan 3, 2012
There are interesting things you can do with these properties. For example:

A quarter wavelength long transmission will look like a short if the far end is open circuited. This acts like a notch filter for frequencies at which the line is an odd-number of quarter wavelengths long.

If you short the far end of the line, the input will appear as an open circuit for odd-number f quarter wavelength frequencies.

The input impedance of a half wave long transmission line will equal the impedance at the far end, regardless of the characteristic impedance of the line.

One of the best books I've read on the topic is Reflections, by Walter Maxwell.

Merlin3189

Joined Oct 20, 2013
Remember, since these relationships are expressed as fractions of wavelength, they apply only to a sinusoidal signal at a particular frequency.