Finding variable overflow`s in C

murkris118

Joined Sep 11, 2013
Hi all, as you can see I am a newbie to this forum and would like to start by asking a question that was asked to me in my recent interview.

1.) How would you find whether a variable is overflowing in C using normal C syntax and features?. For example lets assume there is a int variable and you try to store a long in that, obviously the compiler would not give a compile time error. It will give an output at the cost of sacrificing an overflow. Is there any way to find a variable overflow that you can code inside your program to spit out a user defined error using a printf statement if that happens?.

2.) How would you store a float number like -12.12345 in a signed long without losing precision? Is this possible because the bit width of the number above is waay less than what can be stored in a signed long or is it impossible to store precision in a signed long?

Thanks and waiting for your replies guys!!. sorry if I have phrased the question in a way you cant understand. I promise i`ll improve :D..

ErnieM

Joined Apr 24, 2011
1) There's no automatic way to detect an overflow. Best you test the inputs to see of they are in range.

2) Just arrange the math so the decimal point is shifted, or you may think of it as units. -12.12345 is also 12123450 * 10^-6.

murkris118

Joined Sep 11, 2013
But can the number -1212345*10^-6 be stored in a signed long?. I dont get your solution. can you please elaborate. If I want to store this number in a signed long variable, can u please write down the code block?. I thought only float and double can store precision meaning the decimal portion :confused:...

Papabravo

Joined Feb 24, 2006