Substituting a 2n6028 for a 2n4891 unijunction transistor

johnnyinwa

Joined Jun 24, 2013
Heh guys -- new user here,
Well I am working on an electronic organ project from Forrest M. Mimms the III book "Getting Started in Electronics" from Radio Shack page 108. The circuit calls for a 2n4891 unijunction transistor which is now obsolete and very expensive. I know I can substitute a 2n6028 PUT that will do the job but I need to know the values of the programming resistors to make the substitution work. Please explain in depth as I am new to the field of electronics. An attached schematic would be nice. Thank you so much for your help with this issue!

johnnyinwa. :confused:

Attachments

crutschow

Joined Mar 14, 2008
Below is the basic circuit using the 2N6028 PUT which should have characteristics reasonably close to the 2N4891. Rpb is the timing resistor selected by the switch.

One difference is that the PUT has a lower ratio between the peak and valley currents so it can not operate with as wide a range of Rpb resistors as the 2N4891*. If you have a problem with it not oscillating for certain resistor values you may have to tweak the values of the resistors and consequently the value of the timing capacitor Cc in proportion.

*Note: Rpb has to be small enough so it exceeds the Ip value when the capacitor voltage reaches about 60% of the supply voltage and large enough so the current falls below the Iv value at the end of the capacitor discharge. For the two resistor values shown, Ip is \(\leq\)50μA and Iv is \(\geq\)1mA.

Good luck. ;)

PUT.gif

absf

Joined Dec 29, 2010
The only UJT I know was the 2N2646 which I have a few. They were given to me by my friend.

I found a good section from the Practical Electronics for Inventers describing the UJT and PUT as attached...

Allen

Attachments

johnnyinwa

Joined Jun 24, 2013
Thanks for the replies,