Do electrons "move"?

Cretin

Joined Dec 13, 2012
Hey guys I am studying electrical engineering and am doing some summer-time reading. I found this interesting tidbit, could anyone shed some light on this paragraph from a book I picked up?

In many texts, electric current is described as a physical flow of electrons. It is not. The electrons do not flow. Rather, electricity is a flow of energy as a result of electron vibrations. The mechanism is the transfer of energy from one electron to another as they collide with each other

See I was taught that electrons do "flow", that they physically move through a conductor, but this paragraph says otherwise. If that is the case, and they do collide and create a vibration, then theoretically is the last electron in a line the one with the "greatest" vibration, or are they all equivalent, sharing their vibrations cumulatively and thus creating a final output?

Wendy

Joined Mar 24, 2008
Yes, they move, but at a very slow rate. You have to understand the numbers involved are vast, 1A = 6.241 × 10e18 / second passing a point on a conductor.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ampere

The actual speed of an electron is several inches per hour.

The electric field, which forces this drift, travels close to the speed of light in a wire, this relates very closely to antenna theory.

mac566

Joined Dec 14, 2012
What about in a CRT tube? Is the beam the electrons moving or not? Or are they moving more so because of the magnetic fields being created?

Fieldfx

Joined Jun 13, 2013
I joined up today as a result of this issue....and have been in the wilderness looking in for a while.
Thanks for all organisation of the 555 circuits Bill...you made it easy for me to remember what I needed to do.

However...without getting too philosophical...the question posed is a concept I thought we all had buttoned down historically.