Resonance Problems

nelsonys

Joined Apr 6, 2011
I am now studying about resonance on transmission line.

Is there any recommendation on good study materials (books or any online materials), or even drop some explanation here about the mechanism of resonance and the relationship between reflection (standing wave) as well as lambda/2? Further topics about resonance such as radiation(antenna theory), wave mode, etc...

What I knew about resonance is just about the LC elements that cause resonance. Would like to further my understanding by relating VSWR, wavelength, multiples of half wavelength into resonance as well as other advanced topics.

Besides, I'm now trying to learn about antenna. For an open-ended patch antenna, waves propagate to the edge of the antenna reflect back and create standing wave. According to the allaboutcircuits material, open-end creates full reflection (Vmax) at the edge, but what I don't understand is why is it have to be of the length of lambda/2?

Besides fundamental resonant frequency, there are higher order resonant frequencies related to n multiples of lambda/2. Does this mean that in a certain transmission line, there will be infinite numbers of resonant frequency (ignore losses)?

We know that it's the resonance that creates strong radiation in the antenna, but radiation in the antenna is narrow bandwidth despite there are n multiples of lambda/2 exist in the transmission line. Why is it so?

I'm sorry for my vague description, but I really hope anyone of you could provide me insights on this matter.

Thanks for your help in advance.

w2aew

Joined Jan 3, 2012