Help - 24VDC linear actuator

ubuntu34520

Joined Apr 8, 2013
Hi Everyone,

I am new to electronics and have a question about a linear actuator I was thinking of using in a project. The specs for the actuator that I could find are below:

Stroke Nominal 18"
Push/Pull Rating 665 lbs. max
Voltage 24 DC
Amps 0.5 no load
Duty Intermittent
Avg. Extension Speed 0.3"/sec.

This is all I can find. I've determined that I need about 60W of power. Is the power output of linear actuators controlled by maintaining a constant voltage and changing the current? So I could input 24V and 2.5A and get the power I need? Also, does anyone know what the push/pull rating means exactly? Is this an indication of the maximum force the motor can supply? Could I multiply the push/pull rating by the extension speed to get the maximum power output with the right unit conversions? I need this actuator to lift about 150 pounds, would it be capable of doing so assuming I have an appropriate power supply?I'm sorry if any of these are dumb questions, but I have very little experience with actual electronics and pretty much only know the theory.

Answers to any/all of these questions would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

Brownout

Joined Jan 10, 2012
Hi Everyone,

I've determined that I need about 60W of power. Is the power output of linear actuators controlled by maintaining a constant voltage and changing the current? So I could input 24V and 2.5A and get the power I need?
You can limit the current to control the output power, but I can't say if your numbers add up. Once you start limiting the current, the voltage will change. Do you really need to limit the power?

Also, does anyone know what the push/pull rating means exactly? Is this an indication of the maximum force the motor can supply?
Yup, it's exactly that.

Could I multiply the push/pull rating by the extension speed to get the maximum power output with the right unit conversions?