Need help with project control 10 12v dc motor

Imzautomation

Joined Feb 15, 2013
Hi experts my name is Imran and I am a mechanical engineer by profession . I am building a project where I need to control a 10 DC motors with 12 v power supply , I have plan to connect the 10 motors in parallel and supply them with 12 v ac to do adapter (the one we use for applications like phones etc ) but my question is I would like to integrate the control with MCU. Just to turn on and off my requirement is to connect mcu and motors with single power supply how should I go about it ? And please suggest which MCU to use

Thanks
Imran

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010
To re-state your request, you want to control (on/off only) 10 DC motors all powered from the same 12V DC power supply. Is that right?

What do you mean by "control"? In other words, why not use 10 manual switches? Do you want to control the motors with a computer?

Is the power supply rated for enough current to run all the motors at the same time? Worst case is they are all asked to start at the same instant.

Imzautomation

Joined Feb 15, 2013
To re-state your request, you want to control (on/off only) 10 DC motors all powered from the same 12V DC power supply. Is that right?

What do you mean by "control"? In other words, why not use 10 manual switches? Do you want to control the motors with a computer?

Is the power supply rated for enough current to run all the motors at the same time? Worst case is they are all asked to start at the same instant.
I am planning to supply current from the 12V ac to dv adapter , and connect my 10 motors in parallel . I would like control the the on off with timer to delay , for example I would like my motors to start perform a 5 min cycle and stop and start after some time . And since I am a mechanical engineer I don't have quite a depth knowledge over electronics so all the suggestion will be valuable