18V Digital I/O Board?

tecno40

Joined Feb 9, 2013
Hi,

I was wondering if anyone could recommend a good development board that could control an 18v motor (reverse and forward motion), and accept input from push buttons via usb. I have experience with programming, and can pick up new languages pretty quick, but I'm new to hardware programming so helping me find the right board would be greatly appreciated.

thatoneguy

Joined Feb 19, 2009
You'll need 2 items: H-Bridge capable of switching enough current to drive the motor, and a USB-> H-Bridge "interface", which can be done with a PIC microcontroller or other uC that has on-board USB client. The PIC will appear as a Serial Port to windows, so serial commands are sent over USB and the motor switches.

A version could be made with an FTDI USB-> TTL Serial IC, then a serial UART controlled H-Bridge, but the price would be higher, though embedded programming would be taken out of the loop, all the "work" would be in the application with with USB host.

thatoneguy

Joined Feb 19, 2009
That is only for On/Off control on the low side (switching the ground on and off on the motor).

If you want a reversible motor, you need an H-Bridge, if you only want to turn the power on/off, a logic level MOSFET like the one in his Sparkfun link would suffice, depending on the current your motor requires (this is a BIG requirement to know so the magic smoke stays inside your components).

thatoneguy

Joined Feb 19, 2009
The circuit above is all NPN, so they are only in parallel switching the motor on and off with a higher current ability.

Here is a solution Though not cheap.

I'm not sure if you could parallel two Of these or not, essentially treat the board as one H-Bridge.

Realize that you are talking about switching and reversing nearly 600 Watts of power. That is a lot of current and requires special connectors and heavy gauge wire.