reversing polarity on 12 volt actuator

tolarn

Joined Jan 11, 2013
I need help designing a circuit to reverse polarity on a 12v actuator. The circuit will be started with a limit switch and from there needs to extend then retract automatically. I intend on having a timer on the circuit where I can control the time that its extended. I have looked at SGT Wookies H bridge design but don't think this is what I need. I am new at the design of circuits and not sure of what relays, diodes, 555, 556, etc. that I may need.

tolarn

Joined Jan 11, 2013
Where do I need to put the timer in the ciruit to adjust the length of time that the actuator stays extended? Will this circuit run its full cycle with the limit switch contacts closing and then opening?

tubeguy

Joined Nov 3, 2012
I need help designing a circuit to reverse polarity on a 12v actuator. The circuit will be started with a limit switch and from there needs to extend then retract automatically. I intend on having a timer on the circuit where I can control the time that its extended. I have looked at SGT Wookies H bridge design but don't think this is what I need. I am new at the design of circuits and not sure of what relays, diodes, 555, 556, etc. that I may need.
For some help more exact details need to be posted.
What do you mean by starting with a limit switch?
Will the actuator be at its maximum travel when extended?
How long does the actuator need to be extended?
How much current does the actuator draw?

tolarn

Joined Jan 11, 2013