Why does this happen?

davidGG

Joined Dec 22, 2012
Just before we begin, I am fairly new to electronics.

I have an input of 8.2V from a battery (checked using multimeter). When I connect three resistors in series (each of 180Ω) with this voltage source, my multimeter reads 7.1V across the three resistors. What is happening to the other 1.1V?
I thought that resistors were supposed to equally share the voltage for the source.

Also on a side note, I had my step down transformer hooked up to a full wave bridge rectifier rated at 1.5A 500V. I put three resistors in series connected to my source. V=19 Req=~545 therefore I=34mA
Now everything was running smoothly until I tried to measure the current across the resistors using a multimeter. Like two seconds later (while my multimeter was still reading the current) my full wave bridge rectifier started smoking.
Why did this happen? Was it because I tried to measure the current and that some how overloaded the current? Or is my rectifier not fit to do the job? Sorta scared me, don't want to use my transformer anymore in lieu of a flare up/something blowing up in my face.

Thank you for your help/time.

Markd77

Joined Sep 7, 2009
The battery itself has an internal resistance (not an actual resistor but an unavoidable way that it works).

To measure current you have to break the circuit and put the multimeter probes in the gap. If you try to measure current the same way you measure voltage then the multimeter has a very low resistance and so lots of current will flow through the multimeter. Hopefully the fuse in the multimeter blows quickly enough to prevent damage, but not always. Of course if you moved the probe to the unfused terminal of the multimeter then bad things happen.

JohnInTX

Joined Jun 26, 2012