F=ma

Guinness

Joined Dec 31, 2009
Hi,
I am just a beginner when it comes to physics. But I am curious as to is there a difference between the Force and Kinetic Energy of a object impacting another?

Say a object hits a solid stationary surface, like a solid steel ball hitting a steel wall. Is there a difference between the force it impacts the wall and the kinetic energy it impacts the wall with or are they the same thing?

If they are different, what is the difference?

Sorry for what is such a basic question, but I have seen discussions of force and kinetic energy and they seen to be 2 different things! But I am confused as to what the difference is, as I thought the energy of a object hitting the other would be just one value and would not need different terms to describe it.

Shayan22h

Joined Oct 24, 2012
force and energy re completely two different concepts but they re directly related as F.d= W and W= E so u see that the amount of Force applied on an object multiplied by the distance that the object is traveled due to the force (assumption : force and distance perpendicular) gives u the work done on the object so on the other words u could say this work gained by the object equals to the energy of the object that is obtained by force.
hope this could help ;)

vortmax

Joined Oct 10, 2012
There is a lot you can learn by just studying the equations and units involved. For instance, consider force. Force is defined as:

F = ma

From this equation, we can see that if you apply a force (F) to an object with mass (m), it will accelerate with acceleration (a).

The base unit of energy is the Joule, which in basic units is Kg m^2/s^2. We can divide this unit up into three parts: Kg * m/s^2 * m which is mass * acceleration * distance.

If we look back at the force equation, we can see that

E = mad = Fd