Boolean Algebra reduction

cytosis

Joined Sep 26, 2012
I have a few problems that I'm currently trying to reduce but can't seem to go any further. I have the answers from the back of the book but don't know the steps to get there.

Forgive me as I'm very new to this and don't know how to put the proper notation on a computer.

Problem 1 (Asked our professor about this one and he couldn't figure it out)

W = (A nand B) or (A nor C)

The book lists the answer as:

W = not(A) or not(B), C = not connected

I use DeMorgan's Theorem to get

W = (not(A) or not(B)) or (not(A) and not(C))

That's as far as I can get and I'm not seeing any place where I can apply the laws/rules to reduce it any further. I used a truth table for both the starting equation and the final answer the book gives and they are the same but I just don't see how we reduce any further than what I have.

DerStrom8

Joined Feb 20, 2011
I have a few problems that I'm currently trying to reduce but can't seem to go any further. I have the answers from the back of the book but don't know the steps to get there.

Forgive me as I'm very new to this and don't know how to put the proper notation on a computer.

Problem 1 (Asked our professor about this one and he couldn't figure it out)

W = (A nand B) or (A nor C)

The book lists the answer as:

W = not(A) or not(B), C = not connected

I use DeMorgan's Theorem to get

W = (not(A) or not(B)) or (not(A) and not(C))

That's as far as I can get and I'm not seeing any place where I can apply the laws/rules to reduce it any further. I used a truth table for both the starting equation and the final answer the book gives and they are the same but I just don't see how we reduce any further than what I have.
Hello cytosis. Welcome to the forum!

You are correct when you say that

(A nand b) or (A nor C)

is equivalent to

(not(A) or not(B)) or (not(A) and not(C))

However, you can rearrange the expression as follows:

(not(A) or (not(A) and not(C))) or (not(B))