Boolean Algebraic Manipulation

amishjeb

Joined Sep 9, 2012
I've been working on these problems for a week now and with the due date coming up soon I'm throwing myself at the internet's mercy. I'm just starting out in a freshman level design logic class and am having a terrible time with the algebraic manipulation. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

For this question the book has asked me to determine whether the function is valid or not.

1. x'z + xyz' + x'y + xy' = y'z + xz' + yz' + x'yz
Working on the left, in excruciating detail...
x'(z + y) + x(yz' + y') =
x'(z + y) + x(y + z') =
x'z + x'y + xy + xz' =
x'y + xy + x'z + xz' =
y + x'y + xz' =
y + xz'

Working on the right, again, in detail...
y'z + xz' + yz' + x'yz =
z(y' + x'y) + z'(x' + y) =
z(x' + y) + z'(x' + y) =
x'z + yz + x'z' + yz' =
x'z + x'z' + yz + yz' =
x' + y

So they aren't equivalant? If someone could check my work though.

Also, I keep coming up with terms that look like: a'b + ab'. Is there a proof that simplifies that or is that as simple as it gets? <-- nevermind, just read the exclusive or page...

I have two other problems that I'm going to keep working at and may post later if I'm still stuck. So stay tuned? Exciting stuff, I know.

Like I said, any help would be appreciated.

Last edited:

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
You may not have covered Karnaugh maps as yet but now is a good time as any to learn how to use it.

There is a thread here about Karnaugh maps, in particular, showing examples on how to draw a 4-variable map:
http://forum.allaboutcircuits.com/showthread.php?t=58572

What is shown is a map for four variables where there are 16 boxes for each outcome or minterm. For three variables x,y,z there will be 8 boxes for 8 minterms.
The important thing to note is that the boxes follow a Gray code pattern, e.g. 00-01-11-10

Drawing two K-maps for the two sides of the equation will tell you at a glance if they are equal.