Audio: BoomBox Suitecase Project

SgtOneill

Joined Jul 10, 2012
Hi everyone,

Im pretty new to electronics and I'm starting a new project that should resemble this:

I'm going to use 2 Bass speakers and 2 Tweeters.

So far my schematics have 1 Bass and 1 Tweeter. However yesterday I tried to prototype a simple LM386 with a low pass filter and I was getting alot of noise, and the low pass filter just wasn't working...

Here what I've got so far (this schematic was reviewed today and changed a bit).

What do you guys think?

mcasale

Joined Jul 18, 2011
Okay, I haven't done much with audio frequencies, so I looked up the data sheets. They are attached in case you don't have them.

First off, your amplifier inputs are floating unless you have a microphone plugged in. You will probably pick up a lot of 60Hz noise. Can you tell if that's what you're hearing.

Also, you need to shield these circuits - like in a grounded aluminum box, or you will get 60Hz hum.

Very rarely will application circuits from a data sheet work as presented. They are just a starting point.

Attachments

SgtOneill

Joined Jul 10, 2012
They are floating? how come?

The inputs are pin 2 and 3, if im not mistaken, and they will be connected to a Audio Jack that will be connected to a mp3 player or whatever.
You mean, when nothing is connected to the audio jack? Hmmm...
I'll look that up and double check it.

also, how would you shield this? I don't really know what that is :confused:

Thank you! :D

mcasale

Joined Jul 18, 2011
"Floating" means the inputs are not tied to anything. So, they are antennas.

You should pull the inputs to ground through resistors (like 10K or 100K), unless one side is supposed to be "common" or "ground". Your MP3 player has its own ground/common and it needs to be connected to the ground/common on your circuit.