All About Circuits Forum  

Go Back   All About Circuits Forum > Electronics Forums > The Projects Forum

Notices

The Projects Forum Working on an electronics project and would like some suggestions, help or critiques? If you would like to comment or assist others with their projects, this is the place to do it.

Reply   Post New Thread

Old 05-22-2012, 06:16 PM

Default Transformer overheat

Hi, i've only just joinged the forum and am working on my first project, a multiple 9v power supply for guitar pedals which I own and plan to construct in the near future. I'm pretty new to this, but have picked up the basics and it works! the only problem is that the transformer is getting really hot really quick.

This is the transformer I am using:

http://www.maplin.co.uk/miniature-25...nsformers-3688

Its 240v to 12v and has two black wires on the primary, two red and one white on the secondary (12-0-12). I have the black wires upto the mains, one live and one neutral, and the reds wired to the circuit (one live, one to ground) and the white to a ground on the casing (metal).

So have I wired it wrong? Do transformers usually get too hot to pick up or touch for a few seconds? Is their any way to cool it?

My main concern is that its going to cause a fire, obviously, but could also damage the circuit components or even the guitar pedals.

Thanks in advance for any advice.
Old 05-22-2012, 06:22 PM

No it is not normal that a transformer should get too hot to touch. If it feels slightly warm then that is OK.
The transformer you are using is only rated 250mA which is a pretty small rating. Perhaps you are overloading it. What current are you drawing from it?
Old 05-22-2012, 06:51 PM

Send a message via Skype™ to mcasale

What is the transformer secondary driving? Are you doing any rectification?

I assume you need 9V DC - not AC?

It's usually a good idea to put fuses on the primary side (sometimes, both line and neutral).
Old 05-22-2012, 07:33 PM