Transformer overheat

Lyrica's Reality

Joined May 22, 2012
Hi, i've only just joinged the forum and am working on my first project, a multiple 9v power supply for guitar pedals which I own and plan to construct in the near future. I'm pretty new to this, but have picked up the basics and it works! the only problem is that the transformer is getting really hot really quick.

This is the transformer I am using:

http://www.maplin.co.uk/miniature-250ma-transformers-3688

Its 240v to 12v and has two black wires on the primary, two red and one white on the secondary (12-0-12). I have the black wires upto the mains, one live and one neutral, and the reds wired to the circuit (one live, one to ground) and the white to a ground on the casing (metal).

So have I wired it wrong? Do transformers usually get too hot to pick up or touch for a few seconds? Is their any way to cool it?

My main concern is that its going to cause a fire, obviously, but could also damage the circuit components or even the guitar pedals.

Thanks in advance for any advice.

cork_ie

Joined Oct 8, 2011
No it is not normal that a transformer should get too hot to touch. If it feels slightly warm then that is OK.
The transformer you are using is only rated 250mA which is a pretty small rating. Perhaps you are overloading it. What current are you drawing from it?

mcasale

Joined Jul 18, 2011
What is the transformer secondary driving? Are you doing any rectification?

I assume you need 9V DC - not AC?

It's usually a good idea to put fuses on the primary side (sometimes, both line and neutral).

nomurphy

Joined Aug 8, 2005
Look on the bottom or sides of the pedals and add up the required current for each pedal (e.g., 9VDC at 250mA). The transformer secondary current rating should be for at least twice that total amount.

absf

Joined Dec 29, 2010