amplifier question

Adsa

Joined Mar 10, 2012
i am still very new to amplifier the design. I am assigned to construct a 3 stage amplifier to drive a speaker with a power output of 2w. My question is should the 2w consist of high voltage , high current, or a balance of bothin order to drive the speaker better? Is there any rule of thumb to get ideal approximate values?

bountyhunter

Joined Sep 7, 2009
i am still very new to amplifier the design. I am assigned to construct a 3 stage amplifier to drive a speaker with a power output of 2w. My question is should the 2w consist of high voltage , high current, or a balance of bothin order to drive the speaker better? Is there any rule of thumb to get ideal approximate values?
Since most speakers are 8 Ohms, start with the assumption that is the load. Remember RMS power to the load is .707 x peak sine wave value, so design for a peak to peak output swing about 3X times the voltage that RMS calculation gives you.

Audioguru

Joined Dec 20, 2007
3 stages or 3 transistors? 3 stages with 4 transistors?
Google is full of hundreds of these amplifiers.

A little common-emitter transistor at the input is a voltage amplifier. It drives a complementary (NPN and PNP) output transistor pair that are emitter-followers to provide current gain. Then only 3 transistors are needed but it has only 2 stages.
Another transistor can be the 3rd stage as a preamp for a low level microphone.

Adsa

Joined Mar 10, 2012
3 stages and class b. Im planning on having the last power stage using darlington pairs. What i cant quite understand is one speaks of voltage and current gain, but isnt current gain my only concern? i mean if i can drive the required current through my resistor (0.5 amps 8 ohm resistor) wont voltage become of the required value(v=ir) in order to achieve the required 2w?

thanks in advanced

Adjuster

Joined Dec 26, 2010