understanding a LM317

mypearl

Joined Feb 7, 2012
I want to make colloidal silver water. Which has two (1 pos and 1 neg) silver rods in water. I start off with 30 volts at 10mA using a Power supply. But according to this article as the silver deposits, the water becomes more electric and thus my voltage needs to change in order to keep my current at 10mA. My understanding is the power supply that I have cant "lock" the current. So can I use a LM317 to keep my current at 10mA? Would it adjust the voltage downward for me?

Thank you for helping and the time to read this. I'm just learning the language so please bare with me. I really hope I'm on the right path, took me all weekend to build the courage up to ask for help. Fact is, I think I'm right but feel waaaay off.

Best regards

mlog

Joined Feb 11, 2012
You can use the LM317 as a current source. There is an internal 1.2 volt reference inside the IC. It will try to maintain 1.2 volts between the output pin and the adjustment pin. If you want 10 mA, then you need a 120 ohm resistor between the two pins. The output current is taken from the adjustment side of the resistor.

mypearl

Joined Feb 7, 2012
Let me change modes here for a second. I'm asking because I have a 13.8 (2.5 amp) power supply right now. Do I discount my original input by 1.5 volts for the LM317? That would reduce me to 12.3 volts. So I would do 12.3/.015=820Ω.

As for the water getting more and more charged. The voltage would then drop on its own correct.

Thanks again for checking my noobnes.

Wendy

Joined Mar 24, 2008
A constant current source is exactly what it sounds like. A LM317 has a mode that is a true constant current source. The chip is mainly designed to be a voltage regulator, which is the other side of the coin.

Here is the constant current configuration. As it happens, 10ma is the minimum for this chip for reliable operation. Figure R is 120Ω ¼W 5%.