[Need Help]Soldering problem

newaisa

Joined Dec 6, 2011
Hi guys,

I am very new to soldering. I bought a prototype board trying to solder some very basic components into it. I found that the melted tin kept "sticking" to my solder gun instead of the board itself. I have watched several youtube video on how to solder. I followed what they did, but the tin will just "stick" to the gun all the time. What am I doing wrong here?

Second problem is that, I couldn't rub off the remaining tin on the gun. I saw people took them off by just gently touching a soaked sponge.

I tried reading some soldering guide but still couldn't pull it off. My solder just doesn't meet the "standard". The tin I applied is "floating" and not sitting on the board.

I hope someone experienced can give me some guide.

Skeebopstop

Joined Jan 9, 2009
The trick to your problem is where to heat first. You have to apply some amount, albeit not too much so as to damage the component heating itself up through your pad contact, of heat to the pad first. You can generally also achieve marginal performance heating the pin first but more likely to damage the component.

Basically, anywhere you 'heat' first will 'suck' the solder towards it. In this case your solder keeps getting sucked by the only 'hot surface' which is your soldering iron. Believe it or not the copper pads on the circuit board conduct heat better than your soldering iron (mind you they also cool quicker), so the solder should have a tendancy to prefer the pads. Generally speaking, using either 'solder flux' or solder which has a 'flux' core makes it basically impossible to miss, so I recommend you have a go with some flux before you master the mind of the solder. It takes some time and practice but eventually you'll be able to wield it to make jumper wires (to restricted lengths) and other such necessities to save the time of having to put down a precision wire to make certain connections.