New to electronics and struggling

charliedurrant

Joined Jan 6, 2012
Hi All,

I'm old by students' standards having been a programmer for 21 years I suddenly woke up and wanted to try electronics. I've started to do up an old car and have fitted a mappable ignition system and wanted to learn how things work.

I got a book from the library the other day 'Electronics made simple' by Ian Sinclair and amd finding a good but hard read. Almost every page has to be read twice bu that's part of the fun.

I wanted to check the circuits in the book and thus being a programmer I downloaded Multisim as components are sparse at the moment (that will come in time). I thought my understanding was correct about inductors until I tested a very simple circuit.

1 resister
1 inductor
12v power supply (AC)
scope across the resister
scope across the inductor.

I get a wave for the reading across the inductor but the scope shows vertical lines for the reading across the resister? Oh dear.....am I being stupid?

I was expecting the 2 voltage readings to be 90 degress out of phase as the book seems to say that the inductor will pull back the potential difference due to inductance.

Thanks in advance

Charlie

Last edited:

Adjuster

Joined Dec 26, 2010
Almost all of the voltage will be dropped across the resistor. The oscilloscope reading is therefore off the scale most of the time, apart from some apparently vertical lines where the trace rapidly crosses the screen.

You may be able to get a better display by increasing the scale voltage per division, but there may not be sufficient range available.

Note that for a real oscilloscope, depending on its specification inputs of this level may well be dangerous. (Some models might well handle 120V rms all right, but generally connecting mains to a scope is dangerous territory).

AC mains in my country is 230V, which is a lot worse.