All About Circuits Forum  

Go Back   All About Circuits Forum > Electronics Forums > General Electronics Chat

Notices

General Electronics Chat Discussion forum for general chat about anything electronics related, including asking questions about material in the All About Circuits E-book, Worksheets, and Videos.

Reply   Post New Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-14-2007, 06:00 PM
Peter C Peter C is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1
Default How to hook up 480V 3 phase on the power panel side?

Hi guys I been searching for diagrams on how to hook up 480V and can't find any.

So here is the problem:
I have a box W.A. Benjamin (old one) that is rated at 480Y/277.
I tested the three leads against the ground and got 208V each. How to get get 3 wires of 480V from this box? Do I do the following?

Connect the 3 live wires the following way.
A-B = for the first 480V wire going into the circuit breaker input 1
B-C = for the second 480V wire going into the circuit breaker input 2
A-C = for the third 480V wire going into the circuit breaker input 3


then run it to my motor. The motor is already hooked up just waiting for the (3) 480V wires.

Just wanted to get a confirmation before I make the hookup. I don't want anything to blow because of the high voltage.

Thanks in advance.
Peter
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-15-2007, 05:13 AM
thingmaker3's Avatar
thingmaker3 thingmaker3 is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Rural, Oregon GMT -8
Posts: 5,072
Blog Entries: 6
Default

Your description makes no sense. (No offense intended.) 208Vac is a measurement from a 120/208 system. A 277/480 system would measure 277Vac.

Do NOT connect phase-to-phase! People get killed that way!

Please have an experienced electrician hook up your panel.
__________________
"I want to establish in your mind very clearly that you must not think I deny all that I do not admit. On the contrary, I think there are many things which may be true, and which I shall receive as such hereafter, though I do not as yet receive them; but that is not because there is any proof to the contrary, but that the proof in the affirmative is not yet sufficient for me"
- Michael Faraday
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-17-2007, 05:10 AM
tincat2 tincat2 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: hills of west virginia
Posts: 9
Default

don't know for sure from your post, but it sounds like you've got 208 VAC coming out of the wall(or transformer, possibly a computer room ups setup). what you call a box sounds like a three pole breaker-you should find out what you're dealing with before you proceed, e.g., is your motor a 480v three phase, etc.? listen to thingmaker3 and get someone in there who can check things out.

Last edited by tincat2; 06-17-2007 at 06:38 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-26-2007, 03:37 PM
recca02's Avatar
recca02 recca02 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: India-22.35 N 82.68 E.
Posts: 1,211
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter C View Post
I have a box W.A. Benjamin (old one) that is rated at 480Y/277.
is this a three phase transformer?

if thats the case you can get 480 V between phases not line and ground since generally line values are specified.
also do you have 277 V phase to phase at the primary?
there are lots of questions.
this is the reason god made creatures called electricians.


Quote:
Originally Posted by thingmaker3 View Post
Please have an experienced electrician hook up your panel.
mr thingmaker is himself a good electrician btw

Last edited by recca02; 06-26-2007 at 03:40 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply   Post New Thread

Tags
, , , , ,


Related Site Pages
Section Title
Worksheet Delta and Wye 3-phase circuits
Worksheet Polyphase power systems


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Isolating a secondary backup power source? Conductanc3 The Projects Forum 20 03-02-2013 10:52 PM
3Ph Power Calc on a Load Panel Management General Electronics Chat 3 11-09-2012 06:51 PM
3 phase power systems coley01 General Electronics Chat 2 07-01-2010 12:16 AM
3 Phase Power Unbalanced Loads Eggyjla74 General Electronics Chat 1 10-30-2009 09:02 PM
Switching power supply with a dead (0v) "low" side FalconFour The Projects Forum 8 01-08-2009 11:37 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:21 PM.


User-posted content, unless source quoted, is licensed under a Creative Commons Public Domain License.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.