All About Circuits Forum  

Go Back   All About Circuits Forum > Electronics Forums > The Projects Forum

Notices

The Projects Forum Working on an electronics project and would like some suggestions, help or critiques? If you would like to comment or assist others with their projects, this is the place to do it.

Reply   Post New Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-26-2011, 09:43 PM
john mackay john mackay is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2
Default 3 phase motor speed control

I came across a 3 phase fan today at work, the starter is marked slow and fast but only contains three interconnected contactors with no other internal or external controls. There are six wires out to the motor ie three windings. I thought this is a mistake which should read for / rev so I asked someone to watch the fan asI tried it both ways and it is indeed slow / fast. I`m baffled, how is the speed changed with this contactor arrangement?.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-27-2011, 01:24 PM
GetDeviceInfo's Avatar
GetDeviceInfo GetDeviceInfo is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,501
Default

have no idea what your contactor arrangement is, but you have a couple of options. Your motor may be wired with seperate windings to give you two independant speeds, or the single speed windings may be sectionally reversed giving you a 'consequent pole' configuration. Google is your friend.
__________________
I get all the news I need on the weather report
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to GetDeviceInfo For This Useful Post:
john mackay (12-21-2011)
  #3  
Old 10-27-2011, 04:38 PM
gremlin gremlin is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: machynlleth
Posts: 19
Default

it will i would imagen
switch the 6 wires from your 3 phase motor into
either star or delta configuratuion which will give you two speeds
this is quite comon on mixer agitators for the food industry

http://www.google.co.uk/url?sa=t&rct...31yPccLtYiWH5g

hope this helps

google star delta motor configuration
big three phase motors have to use bot star and delta one to start and one to run switched over after a few seconds of running
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to gremlin For This Useful Post:
john mackay (12-21-2011)
  #4  
Old 10-27-2011, 06:13 PM
GetDeviceInfo's Avatar
GetDeviceInfo GetDeviceInfo is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,501
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gremlin View Post
it will i would imagen
switch the 6 wires from your 3 phase motor into
either star or delta configuratuion which will give you two speeds
this is quite comon on mixer agitators for the food industry

http://www.google.co.uk/url?sa=t&rct...31yPccLtYiWH5g

hope this helps

google star delta motor configuration
big three phase motors have to use bot star and delta one to start and one to run switched over after a few seconds of running
Let's flush out this misconception;

the only difference between star (wye) and delta, is the voltage across the windings. There is no change in speed. The poles are fixed and you use the same poles regardless of delta or wye. There is typically a loss in speed regulation at load with a wye connection compared to delta, however a low or no load, wye gives improved efficiencies.

The wye connection gives you 1/3 power output compared to it's delta configuration. This is what the 'soft start' concept is based upon.

Double check your linked doc, specifically the RPM ratings at the different connections.

Spending the last two days rebuilding moisture damaged contactors for a 37kw wye/delta starter.
__________________
I get all the news I need on the weather report

Last edited by GetDeviceInfo; 10-27-2011 at 06:33 PM.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to GetDeviceInfo For This Useful Post:
john mackay (12-21-2011)
  #5  
Old 12-21-2011, 07:09 PM
john mackay john mackay is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GetDeviceInfo View Post
have no idea what your contactor arrangement is, but you have a couple of options. Your motor may be wired with seperate windings to give you two independant speeds, or the single speed windings may be sectionally reversed giving you a 'consequent pole' configuration. Google is your friend.
Thanks for the replies, GetDeviceinfo has the correct answer. On further investigation I found that the motor does indeed contain two separate windings, one of which has such a low resistance it does not register on my multi-meter.
Reply With Quote
Reply   Post New Thread

Tags
, , ,


Related Site Pages
Section Title
Worksheet AC motor control circuits
Worksheet AC motor theory
Textbook Other specialized motors : Ac Motors
Textbook Tesla polyphase induction motors : Ac Motors
Worksheet Polyphase power systems
Textbook Brushless DC motor : Ac Motors
Textbook Synchronous Motors : Ac Motors
Worksheet DC motor control circuits
Textbook Permissive and interlock circuits : Ladder Logic
Textbook Contactors : Electromechanical Relays


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Will a PIC work to translate stepper control signals for a mini CNC lathe? AdamM Embedded Systems and Microcontrollers 7 01-13-2011 01:46 AM
current control versus voltage control kokkie_d General Electronics Chat 0 10-15-2010 10:04 AM
Implementing Control Theory royourboat Electronics Resources 12 06-15-2010 12:50 PM
TCA785 phase control ic Alvin24 The Projects Forum 1 04-13-2009 06:28 AM
Thyristor phase control noh The Projects Forum 8 02-26-2009 08:00 AM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:51 AM.


User-posted content, unless source quoted, is licensed under a Creative Commons Public Domain License.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.