All About Circuits Forum  

Go Back   All About Circuits Forum > Electronics Forums > The Projects Forum

Notices

The Projects Forum Working on an electronics project and would like some suggestions, help or critiques? If you would like to comment or assist others with their projects, this is the place to do it.

Reply   Post New Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-08-2011, 12:27 AM
ahtat ahtat is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 4
Default 12VDC to 24VDC flyback converter(multiple output)

Hi,

I'm trying to design a flyback DC-DC converter which can provide up to 24V DC from a normal 12V DC lead-acid battery that every car has. It can be used to run radios, small lights, relays, horns and other 24V accessories(multiple output) from a 12V vehicle.

I have done research on flyback topology and design the circuit diagram. I couldn't get the 24V DC from the output, after I assembly all the components. Is my design having problem or I selected the wrong flyback transformer?

Attach are my design and the info of flyback transformer.
http://images.elektroda.net/11_1312757763.gif
http://www.farnell.com/datasheets/323239.pdf
IC chip is UC3843AN(current mode) and flyback transformer is myrra 74014.

PLS HELP and advice!!! Thank you.
Attached Images
File Type: gif new.gif (15.9 KB, 25 views)
Attached Files
File Type: pdf 74014.pdf (24.9 KB, 17 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-08-2011, 03:01 AM
praondevou's Avatar
praondevou praondevou is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,887
Default

First thing but this has nothing to do with your problem:
Isn't the feedback comparator comparing the FB voltage to 1/2 of Vref, i.e. 2.5V? That means if the circuit was working it wouldn't regulate the output voltage to 24V but to about 49V.

Then, which of the transformer pins did you use? The one u posted doesn't have a ratio 1:2 even if I put the two secondaries in series. It also would have to be mounted the other way around since it's primary has much more turns than it's secondary. Can u name the terminals u used please?

When u powered the circuit up, did u measure the pulse width at the 3823's output?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-09-2011, 01:24 AM
ahtat ahtat is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 4
Default Re: 12VDC to 24VDC flyback converter(multiple output)

Thank you for your reply.

Then what i should do to regulate the output voltage to 24V?
i use pin 6 and pin 4(+E and drain) for the primary and pin7 &8 and pin9&10 for secondaries.

which pin should tested for measure the pulse width?use output pin and GND pin?
Sorry. I am newbie in this area.please give some guide and advice.
thank you very much.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-09-2011, 04:00 AM
SgtWookie's Avatar
SgtWookie SgtWookie is offline
Expert Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: In the vast midwest of the USA; CST
Posts: 22,038
Default

So instead of a 1:2 transformer, you have it wired as a 2:1 transformer.

You could turn it around and use the secondary as the primary. The secondary of that transformer is only rated for 0.4A. You need to set your sense resistor high enough so that you don't exceed the transformer's current rating; or you will have a ruined transformer. If you exceed the peak rating, the transformer core will saturate, with resulting heavy current and high power dissipation.

Replace that 300k resistor with a 140k Ohm resistor; with the lower resistor being 16.2k, you should wind up with the correct output voltage.

Since the secondary winding is limited to 400mA, your output will be less than 200mA @ 24v.

The pulse width can be measured on the OUTPUT pin, using GND for a reference.
__________________
General info:
If you have a question, please start a thread/topic. I do not provide gratis assistance via PM nor E-mail, as that would violate the intent of this Board, which is sharing knowledge ... and deprives you of other knowledgeable input.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-18-2011, 03:56 PM
ahtat ahtat is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 4
Default

hi all, thank you for all reply and advice.

I was able to generate first output(24VDC) with S1 and 0V,but further add on S2 and 0V,the circuit showed error and can't generate both outputs(24VDC). For the second output, I only connect the zener diode(1N5818) and capacitor. Should I add the feedback loop for second output or add opto-coupler to isolate the output voltage?
Please advice.Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-18-2011, 04:35 PM
SgtWookie's Avatar
SgtWookie SgtWookie is offline
Expert Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: In the vast midwest of the USA; CST
Posts: 22,038
Default

You need to update your schematic and post versions to show what worked, and what did not work.

Otherwise, it will be difficult to suggest a course of action.
__________________
General info:
If you have a question, please start a thread/topic. I do not provide gratis assistance via PM nor E-mail, as that would violate the intent of this Board, which is sharing knowledge ... and deprives you of other knowledgeable input.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-19-2011, 07:50 AM
ahtat ahtat is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 4
Default

Attached is my schematic diagram.
S1 is pin 9 from transformer 74014, and S2 is pin7.


I was able to generate first output(24VDC) with S1 and 0V,which connect 2 resistor(39k&2k),zener diode(1N5818) and capacitor(560uF) but further add on S2 and 0V,the circuit showed error and can't generate both outputs(24VDC). For the second output, I only connect the zener diode(1N5818) and capacitor. Should I add the feedback loop for second output or add opto-coupler to isolate the output voltage?
Please advice.Thank you.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg new circuit.jpg (31.4 KB, 14 views)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-19-2011, 10:03 PM
SgtWookie's Avatar
SgtWookie SgtWookie is offline
Expert Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: In the vast midwest of the USA; CST
Posts: 22,038
Default

Best as I can figure out, it seems like you are STILL using pins 7 and 9 on the secondary side.

That's just not going to work.

Pins 7,8,9, and 10 need to be on your primary side. Connect pins 8 & 9 together. Connect 7 to +12v, and pin 10 to the switch input (pin 4) on the regulator.
Pins 6 and 4 are your secondary side.
Ground pin 4. Connect pin 6 to D1's anode. Remove D2, Cout2.

Leave pins 1 and 2 of the flyback transformer disconnected.
__________________
General info:
If you have a question, please start a thread/topic. I do not provide gratis assistance via PM nor E-mail, as that would violate the intent of this Board, which is sharing knowledge ... and deprives you of other knowledgeable input.
Reply With Quote
Reply   Post New Thread

Tags
, , , ,


Related Site Pages
Section Title
Video Lecture Transformers (Part 1) - Inductors,Capacitors,Transformers
Worksheet Step-up, step-down, and isolation transformers


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Op-amp as comparator.. logic output? Nabla General Electronics Chat 8 05-09-2008 02:11 PM
Alarm for a clock arthur92710 General Electronics Chat 4 02-29-2008 02:23 PM
What is the command to view output power in a PSpice simulation? Amenably_Amendable Homework Help 0 01-28-2008 10:42 PM
Methods for converting a sine to sqaure wave cha1n The Projects Forum 26 05-23-2007 01:38 PM
Output from chip to transitor to switch motor. Please help! thomast The Projects Forum 5 10-30-2006 04:53 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:59 PM.


User-posted content, unless source quoted, is licensed under a Creative Commons Public Domain License.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.