All About Circuits Forum  

Go Back   All About Circuits Forum > Software, Microcomputing, and Communications Forums > Embedded Systems and Microcontrollers

Notices

Embedded Systems and Microcontrollers Discussion forum for projects and working with embedded systems and microcontrollers (FPGAs, PICs, AVRs). Get help with hardware issues and embedded programming.

Reply   Post New Thread

Old 07-31-2011, 06:48 PM

Default PIC Programming in Hi-Tech C

Hello,

Im new to PIc programming and as a part of the interest to flash some projects onto pic's, I bought a PICkit2 programmer. So now Im trying to learn how to write programs on my own in Hi-tech C. Im using MPlab 8.53 and hi-tech PICC 9.7 modules and a PIC16F628A chip and the internal OSC. The problem I am facing is that I can flash my 16F628 well enough and blink my led's but it acts totally wierd.

Code:
#include <HTC.H>
#define _XTAL_FREQ 20000000 

__CONFIG(INTIO & WDTDIS & PWRTDIS & BORDIS & LVPDIS );

void main()

{
    TRISA=0;
    TRISB=0;
    unsigned char i=0;

while (1)
{
i=0;
while (i<2){
PORTA = 0xFF;
_delay(100000);
_delay(100000);
PORTA = 0x00;
_delay(100000);
_delay(100000);
i=i+1;
}
i=0;
while (i<2){
PORTB = 0xFF;
_delay(100000);
PORTB = 0x00;
_delay(100000);
i=i+1;
}
PORTB = 0x00;
}
}
Select All
The port A led's blink 2 times, then the port B blinks Twice and whole repeats..

However if I change the delay to _delay(1000), it doesnt blink at all.. and _delay_ms(100) gives unidetified errors.. how do I fix the delay problems??

Last edited by jj_alukkas; 07-31-2011 at 06:56 PM.
Old 07-31-2011, 07:24 PM

Hi,

I'm also using the PIC16F628 MCU for my projects. The following program flashes all the LEDS on PORT A and B.

Code:
/*

Program:    Skeleton program        
Description:To get going
PIC:        PIC 16 F 628
IDE:        MPLAB 
Compiler:    High tech C
*/

#include <htc.h>

#define _XTAL_FREQ 4000000

/* Configuration */

__CONFIG    (WDTDIS &
            PWRTEN &
            MCLREN &