I need a latest & good Performance SUPERCAPACITOR

naresh19ch

Joined May 19, 2011
Hi friendsss..............
I am doing My Masters project in ENERGY STORAGE SYSTEM USING SUPERCAPACITORS" any one could please know to me which Supercapacitor is best one to use my circuit??
my concept view SC have to be connected in series because their voltage rating is geerally low compared to convential capacitors. in parllel connection increases the power and energy storage capability..............
so any one could please send me circuts ( CAPACITORS IN SERIAL Connection and parllel connection) & any new idea about my project............
how can i show SC application........(SC= supercapacitor).

Thanking all.............
CHEERS
NARESH

mcgyvr

Joined Oct 15, 2009
Naresh,
How do you expect an answer without defining even a single variable/specification about your supposed circuit? Are you trying to store energy for a single LED or a full automobile, etc...

Not to mention isn't this YOUR masters project.. Aren't YOU supposed to determine this information by looking at various super capacitors and their advantages/disadvantages based on this mystery circuit.

Jaguarjoe

Joined Apr 7, 2010
It doesn't matter if they are in parallel or in series, you will store the same amount of energy. Energy = .5CV^2.

Two 10 farad 5 volt capacitors in parallel give you the equivalent of a 20f/ 5v capacitor. Its energy is: .5(20)(5^2) = 250J

The same two 10 farad 5 volt caps in series give you the equivalent of a 5f/10v capacitor. Its energy is: .5(5)(10^2) = 250J

Wendy

Joined Mar 24, 2008
There is some interesting vaporware out there that people keep promising will come out any time now. It has some serious investors, so I suspect there are technical issues they aren't willing to discuss. I think it was supposed to be a 100F at 10KV, meant for cars. At those energy levels if something goes pop it is a blast, literally.

Don't know if it is something you are interested, but I took a chance.