All About Circuits Forum  

Go Back   All About Circuits Forum > Electronics Forums > Homework Help

Notices

Homework Help Stuck on a textbook question or coursework? Cramming for a test and need help understanding something? Post your questions and attempts here and let others help.

Reply   Post New Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-27-2011, 01:21 PM
and1_hotsauce and1_hotsauce is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19
Default how to connect Pot in series with resistor

Hi,

I'm trying to connect the circuit pictured to the left. Both resistors are going into pin 2. How would I be able to make 5k a variable resistor?

I have connected leg 3 of POT to resistor. But would that not also make the 10k a variable resistor??

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-27-2011, 01:37 PM
DerStrom8's Avatar
DerStrom8 DerStrom8 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vermont, U.S.A. (GMT-5)
Posts: 1,810
Blog Entries: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by and1_hotsauce View Post
I have connected leg 3 of POT to resistor. But would that not also make the 10k a variable resistor??
No, if you connect it the way it is drawn, the 5K pot will work independently of the 10K fixed resistor. It appears that you have it connected correctly.
Der Strom
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-27-2011, 01:39 PM
Adjuster's Avatar
Adjuster Adjuster is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: London UK (GMT)
Posts: 2,147
Default

Your sketch on the left side of the picture shows one fixed resistor and one variable resistor connected to pin 2 of an IC. The breadboard seems to show two resistors connected to pin 2, one of which is a 5k variable, connected to another pot of unspecified value.

You then ask if connecting the pot would make another resistor variable. I would think not, although the total resistance would be variable, within a limited range. Could you explain more clearly what you are trying to do?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-27-2011, 01:58 PM
and1_hotsauce and1_hotsauce is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19
Default

sorry let me be a bit more specific

Assume I dont have a 30.6K and 510 ohm resistor(fig below). Instead I have a 28K and 500 ohm resistors instead. I want to connect TWO pots in series with each resistor in order to bring the value up to 30.k and 510 ohm respectively.

The dilemma is, if I connect a pot in series with R1 does it not automatically make R2 a variable resistor as well?

In the circuit above I have connecetd the pot to 30k pot to the 5k resistor FOR EXAMPLE, to bring it to 30.6 k. By twisting the knob, does it effect both resistors?

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-27-2011, 02:02 PM
and1_hotsauce and1_hotsauce is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DerStrom8 View Post
No, if you connect it the way it is drawn, the 5K pot will work independently of the 10K fixed resistor. It appears that you have it connected correctly.
Der Strom
What you mean? Both resistors are connected to pin 2 which is aht I have drawn (ms paint). How do I connect the pot to control only one of the resistors?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-27-2011, 02:29 PM
Adjuster's Avatar
Adjuster Adjuster is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: London UK (GMT)
Posts: 2,147
Default

If the 10kΩ is a fixed resistor, then it will not change just because another resistor connected to the same point is variable.

If the two resistors are connected in series or parallel, then the total equivalent resistance will vary, but this is not the same thing. The 10kΩ remains 10kΩ, only an equivalent resistance changes.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-27-2011, 02:36 PM
and1_hotsauce and1_hotsauce is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19
Default

thanks for that! So can I say now that my 5K resistor is effectively a variable resistor? Is this the proper way to connect a pot to a resistor in order to make it variable??

Last edited by and1_hotsauce; 04-27-2011 at 02:56 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-27-2011, 04:01 PM
bluemarvin bluemarvin is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 8
Default

The 3 pot terminals may be confusing you...you need to use only the wiper and either of the other two terminals...this will vary the resistance across those two points from 0 to 5k or whatever the pot value is. Connect one of those two points to your fixed resistor in SERIES and you will make a variable resistor ranging from the fixed value to the fixed value plus 5k. You could also connect them in parallel but that would only get you 0 to 3.33k if the fixed is 10k and the pot is 5k.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-28-2011, 12:34 AM
and1_hotsauce and1_hotsauce is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19
Default

thanks got it now

Last edited by and1_hotsauce; 04-28-2011 at 12:49 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply   Post New Thread

Tags
, , ,


Related Site Pages
Section Title
Worksheet Switched capacitor circuitry
Worksheet Performance-based assessments for semiconductor circuit competencies
Worksheet AC network analysis
Worksheet Simultaneous equations for circuit analysis
Worksheet Performance-based assessments for AC circuit competencies
Worksheet Series-parallel DC circuits
Worksheet Potentiometers
Worksheet Voltage divider circuits
Worksheet Performance-based assessments for basic electricity competencies
Worksheet Series DC circuits


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
switch help + wire help dd1313 General Electronics Chat 4 05-24-2010 10:53 PM
quick question ihaveaquestion Homework Help 4 08-19-2009 08:50 PM
a power soucre parrallel to a resitor and in series with another resistor Unregistered Feedback and Suggestions 1 02-12-2009 04:42 PM
50k pot into 10k or 100 ohm pot Overclocked2300 General Electronics Chat 2 10-27-2005 08:06 AM
Series resistor knoblame General Electronics Chat 4 05-24-2005 08:39 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:27 AM.


User-posted content, unless source quoted, is licensed under a Creative Commons Public Domain License.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.