LED Cribbage Board

leedemo

Joined Apr 26, 2011
Hey everyone,

Im new to this forum, so please bear with me. I have had an idea in my head about making a Led Cribbage board. Cribbage is a pretty big deal up here in northern Minnesota, which got me interested in this idea. Basically, i would like to have an LED under each hole. Then, when a peg is placed into one of the holes, i would like all of the LED's in the previous holes to activate, and none of the LED's in front of the hole to activate.

So here is the problem. I am a Mechanical Engineer, so i only have a rudimentary knowledge of circuits. does anyone know of any circuit that would allow this type of operation? i have considered using bunches of toggle switches, but that gets expensive. Thanks for everything

Bernard

Joined Aug 7, 2008
How many holes? Diameter? If eaqch hole had two contacts & pin was metal or had a metal band, & was short enough so as not to push out LED, we would have a shorting switch as an input; but do not have fun part worked out yet.

leedemo

Joined Apr 26, 2011
there are a total of 252 holes, 126 per line. Things get complicated quickly because of the sheer number. I am flexible on the hole diameter, whatever works best. I believe im following you with what you are thinking, but wouldnt that method only light up the hole in which the pin is resting?

Wendy

Joined Mar 24, 2008
Basically a sensor per hole, and one or more LEDs per hole. I may be wrong, but I suspect you will need a lot of logical gates called XOR gates. I'd start with small prototype, say 5 holes or so.

I assume the 126 can be treated as a separate circuit. This works for you, as it can be 4 circuits that are duplicates.

I'll draw a 5 hole prototype circuit shortly. Someone else may have a better idea.

leedemo

Joined Apr 26, 2011
Bill,