First PCB - Is it possible to be too ugly to work?

jerseyguy1996

Joined Feb 2, 2008
I am creating the circuit laid out on page 5 of this document:

http://focus.ti.com/lit/ug/sluu023b/sluu023b.pdf

It is my first attempt at designing a pcb. I used ExpressPCB in this attempt. I started out trying to be all neat about my component placement and traces but towards the middle and end I was literally just sticking components wherever there was some unused real estate on the board. Is there a limit to how convoluted and spaghetti looking a board gets before you start running into problems? The layout is shown below. That is the bottom copper layer. The top copper layer is a solid copper layer that serves as a ground plane.

Attachments

Last edited:

Wendy

Joined Mar 24, 2008
The green layer is the top layer, not a good thing.

When I get home I'll show you my latest project, but you can see another attempt on my How I make PCBs thread. Come to think of it, I did not show the Express files directly. I also made the PCB mirrored the wrong way because I had selected the wrong layer the first time.

How are you planning on making this PCB? Toner transfer, photographic, or other?

JDT

Joined Feb 12, 2009
Yes, unusual colour scheme but I've seen plenty worse layouts. I seem to spend a lot of time getting all my resistors into neat rows, have all my ICs pointing the same way and all my tracks neatly parallel with 45deg corners. It won't make any difference to the performance but it makes me feel good!

Only 1 comment on your layout: Why is LED1 the opposite way round to the others? Easy to make a mistake on insertion. Especially if it's someone else doing the assembling.